Our Mission Statement

The Friends of Historic Great Falls Tavern is an all-volunteer nonprofit organization founded in 1973.  Its primary mission is to support the National Park Service at the C & O Canal National Historical Park in maintaining and preserving the Historic Great Falls Tavern Visitor Center and its surrounding area.  In addition, the Friends support ongoing preservation efforts of the C & O Canal and numerous historic structures along its entire length.  This support is provided through both volunteer time and financial resources.

The Friends also hold social events to foster camaraderie and sharing of knowledge about the Historic Great Falls Tavern and the C&O Canal.  These activities include an annual trip to a Canal-related historical location, a summer picnic with the C&O Canal Association, British-style pub quizzes, and an annual dinner with a presentation on some aspect of the Canal or local history.

Our Board of Trustees

Members of the 2017 Board of Trustees are listed below. The numbers in parentheses indicates the final year of the Trustee's term. The Trustees may be contacted individually or collectively by using the contact information shown at the bottom of the page.

The Friends of the Historic Great Falls Tavern is a not-for-profit, member-supported, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to preserving the Historic Great Falls Tavern and other historic structures located in the C&O Canal National Historical Park. Membership dues and donations to the Friends fund our preservation and educational activities and are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. Although we are not required to file a 990 form with the IRS, our most recent financial statements may be viewed here:

Governance of the Friends

Our Bylaws

Our Bylaws can be viewed here:

Don Harrison, President (2017)

Diane Seward, Treasurer (2108)

Liz Harrison, Membership Chair (2017)

Jim Harrison, Trustee (2019)

Elie Pisarra Cain, Trustee (2017)

Neil Barkin, Trustee (2019)

Michael Brunner, Trustee (2018)

Lynne Astrich, Trustee (2018)

Susan Dolan, Vice-President (2017)

Joan Barkin, Trustee (2019)

Jim Moore, Trustee (2018)

Karen Harrison, Secretary (2018)

Chris Rigaux, Trustee (2017)

Sylvia Diss, Trustee (2019)

Bob Kellogg, Trustee (2019)

2015 Financial Statement

2014 Financial Statement

2016 Financial Statement